Amazon Renewed vs Apple Store: which is better for refurbished Apple?

Amazon Renewed for longer returns (30 days against 15 days), cheaper iPhones (from CA$139 against CA$819) and more listings (368 against 207). Apple Store for a longer warranty (1 year against 3 months).

Prices checked Oct 31, 10:42 a.m. EDT. Sellers pay us a commission. It never changes the order. Is RefurbMe free to use?

Where Amazon Renewed and Apple Store differ

Each store's own terms. A check marks the better one where we can rank it.

Amazon Renewed Apple Store

Warranty

3 months
1 yearEligible for AppleCare+

Returns

30 days
15 days

Battery

80%+Minimum 80% battery life
Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell

Accessories

Compatible accessoriesCompatible MFi Certified charger and cable. No headphones.
Original Apple accessoriesEvery device will come with all original accessories, cables and operating systems

Shipping

FreeMost of the products are eligible to Amazon Prime. First orders of eligible items and orders including $35 or more of eligible items qualify for free shipping
Not statedShipping costs are calculated and displayed before you complete your order on the Apple Online Store.

Paying

Pay in fullVISA, MasterCard, American Express debit or credit card
Installments availableInterest-free through Apple Card. Apple Pay, Apple Card, PayPal, Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, UnionPay, Apple Gift card

Student discount

Not stated
None

The grades at Amazon Renewed next to those at Apple Store

Same letter, different words. Every grade works fully; the grade describes looks. The photos follow the device you picked above.

Amazon Renewed Apple Store

Premium and Excellent

Premium: The screen has no scratches; the body has no signs of cosmetic damage when the product is held 30 cm away. The product has more than 90% of its original battery life.
Battery 90%+Screen: no scratches
Excellent: The screen has no scratches; the body has no signs of cosmetic damage when the product is held 30 cm away. The product has more than 80% of its original battery life.
Battery 80%+Screen: no scratches

Grade A

You will receive a refurbished device with genuine Apple replacement parts (as needed) that has been thoroughly cleaned and inspected. Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell.
Original partsNew battery
Grade A: Almost no visible marks

AAlmost no visible marks

Good

The screen has no scratches; the body has light signs of cosmetic damage. Damage is barely visible when the product is held 30 cm away and imperceptible to touch.
Screen: no scratches

Not sold

Apple Store has no grade B.

Grade B: Light marks on the body

BLight marks on the body

Acceptable

The screen may have a small number of scratches that are invisible when the screen is turned on; the body has light signs of cosmetic damage. Damage is clearly visible when the product is held 30 cm away and perceptible to touch.

Not sold

Apple Store has no grade C.

Grade C: Visible marks on body and screen

CVisible marks on body and screen

Amazon Renewed or Apple Store?

Is Amazon Renewed or Apple Store cheaper for refurbished Apple devices?

Amazon Renewed is cheaper: its lowest refurbished iPhone costs CA$139, against CA$819 at Apple Store, as of October 31, 2026. Amazon Renewed is also cheaper for iPads (CA$114 against CA$709) and MacBooks (CA$244 against CA$979). Across all its devices, Amazon Renewed starts at CA$114 and Apple Store starts at CA$139. Prices come from RefurbMe's live listings and change daily.

Does Amazon Renewed or Apple Store have the longer warranty?

Apple Store gives the longer warranty on refurbished Apple devices: 1 year, against 3 months at Amazon Renewed, as of October 31, 2026. On returns, the figures are 30 days at Amazon Renewed and 15 days at Apple Store. Each figure is the minimum every listing at the store carries, so some listings come with more.

Does Amazon Renewed or Apple Store give longer to return a device?

Amazon Renewed gives at least 30 days to return a refurbished Apple device, against at least 15 days at Apple Store, as of October 31, 2026. On warranty, the figures are 3 months at Amazon Renewed and 1 year at Apple Store.

How do the grades at Amazon Renewed and Apple Store compare?

Amazon Renewed sells refurbished Apple devices in Excellent, Good and Acceptable; Apple Store sells Grade A. The same name can mean different things at each store, so compare each store's own wording. Every grade works fully; the grade only describes how the casing and screen look.

Does Amazon Renewed or Apple Store have more refurbished Apple devices?

Refurbished Apple devices in RefurbMe's live listings, as of October 31, 2026: 368 at Amazon Renewed, against 207 at Apple Store. By device: 166 iPhones against 44, 103 iPads against 39 and 76 MacBooks against 48. Amazon Renewed has more listings in 3 of the 4 device types both stores sell.

More matchups