Apple Store vs MacSales.com: which is better for refurbished Apple?

MacSales.com for longer returns (30 days against 14 days), cheaper iPads (from $145 against $339) and cheaper iPhones (from $399 against $659). Apple Store for a longer warranty (1 year against 3 months) and more listings (333 against 295).

Prices checked Oct 17, 11:10 AM EDT. Sellers pay us a commission. It never changes the order. Is RefurbMe free to use?

Neither is cheapest for iPads: eBay Refurbished starts at $49 today.

Where Apple Store and MacSales.com differ

Each store's own terms. A check marks the better one where we can rank it.

Apple Store MacSales.com

Warranty

1 yearEligible for AppleCare+
3 months90-day OWC limited parts and labor warranty. For a limited time, US orders of a qualifying Mac can add a free 1-year OWC Eclipse warranty in the cart. Paid Eclipse plans run 1 to 2 years, are US-only and can only be added at purchase.

Returns

14 days
30 daysRequest a return within 30 days of the invoice date. For Apple computers, tablets and iPhones a 5% fee (max $25) applies if returned unopened, 15% if opened, and 25% if returned in a different condition or missing accessories. Shipping costs are not refunded.

Battery

Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell
Not stated

Accessories

Original Apple accessoriesEvery device will come with all original accessories, cables and operating systems
Power adapter and cable included, listed on each machine

Shipping

FreeShipping costs are calculated and displayed before you complete your order on the Apple Online Store.
FreeFree shipping on orders of $99 and up within the 48 contiguous US states. Same-day shipping on in-stock orders placed by 7:30 PM CT Monday to Friday or 3:30 PM CT Saturday.

Paying

Installments availableInterest-free through Apple Card. Apple Pay, Apple Card, PayPal, Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, UnionPay, Apple Gift card
Installments availableMonthly payments with Affirm. Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Apple Pay, Amazon Pay, Affirm

Student discount

None
Not stated

The grades at Apple Store next to those at MacSales.com

Same letter, different words. Every grade works fully; the grade describes looks. The photos follow the device you picked above.

Apple Store MacSales.com

Grade A

You will receive a refurbished device with genuine Apple replacement parts (as needed) that has been thoroughly cleaned and inspected. Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell.
Original partsNew battery

Premium or Excellent

Nearly pristine to well cared for. A few faint scratches, scuffs or minor dings from general use may be present. Tested, 100% functional.
Battery 0%+
Grade A: Almost no visible marks

AAlmost no visible marks

Not sold

Apple Store has no grade B.

Very Good

Some use but not abuse. Noticeable scratches, scuffs, wear marks or minor dings, and minor screen scratches or key marks that are largely unnoticeable in use. Tested, 100% functional.
Battery 0%+
Grade B: Light marks on the body

BLight marks on the body

Not sold

Apple Store has no grade C.

Good

Lived-in look. Many noticeable scratches, wear marks, dings, small dents or discoloration; screen scratches mostly unnoticeable in use. Tested, 100% functional.
Battery 0%+
Grade C: Visible marks on body and screen

CVisible marks on body and screen

Apple Store or MacSales.com?

Is Apple Store or MacSales.com cheaper for refurbished Apple devices?

MacSales.com is cheaper: its lowest refurbished iPad costs $145, against $339 at Apple Store, as of October 17, 2026. MacSales.com is also cheaper for iMacs ($79 against $1,269) and MacBooks ($219 against $679). Across all its devices, Apple Store starts at $339 and MacSales.com starts at $49. Prices come from RefurbMe's live listings and change daily.

Does Apple Store or MacSales.com have the longer warranty?

Apple Store gives the longer warranty on refurbished Apple devices: 1 year, against 3 months at MacSales.com, as of October 17, 2026. On returns, the figures are 14 days at Apple Store and 30 days at MacSales.com. Each figure is the minimum every listing at the store carries, so some listings come with more.

Does Apple Store or MacSales.com give longer to return a device?

MacSales.com gives at least 30 days to return a refurbished Apple device, against at least 14 days at Apple Store, as of October 17, 2026. On warranty, the figures are 1 year at Apple Store and 3 months at MacSales.com. MacSales.com's policy says: "Request a return within 30 days of the invoice date."

How do the grades at Apple Store and MacSales.com compare?

Apple Store sells refurbished Apple devices in Grade A; MacSales.com sells Premium or Excellent, Very Good and Good. The same name can mean different things at each store, so compare each store's own wording. Every grade works fully; the grade only describes how the casing and screen look.

Does Apple Store or MacSales.com have more refurbished Apple devices?

Refurbished Apple devices in RefurbMe's live listings, as of October 17, 2026: 333 at Apple Store, against 295 at MacSales.com. By device: 191 iPads against 26, 62 iMacs against 102 and 26 MacBooks against 109. Apple Store has more listings in 2 of the 4 device types both stores sell.

Is there a cheaper option than Apple Store and MacSales.com?

For refurbished iPads, yes: eBay Refurbished starts at $49 in RefurbMe's live listings, as of October 17, 2026, against $145 at the cheaper of Apple Store and MacSales.com. eBay Refurbished has 70 iPads listed. Its warranty lasts 1 year, with 30-day returns.

More matchups