Apple Store vs Grade Mobile: which is better for refurbished Apple?

Grade Mobile for longer returns (30 days against 14 days), cheaper iPhones (from £89 against £569) and cheaper iPads (from £69 against £259). Apple Store for more listings (197 against 98), MacBooks, which Grade Mobile does not sell and iMacs, which Grade Mobile does not sell.

Prices checked 21 Oct, 21:12. Sellers pay us a commission. It never changes the order. Is RefurbMe free to use?

Neither is cheapest for iPhones: Back Market starts at £63 today.

Where Apple Store and Grade Mobile differ

Each store's own terms. A check marks the better one where we can rank it.

Apple Store Grade Mobile

Warranty

1 yearEligible for AppleCare+
1 year1-year warranty from the date of delivery on devices bought outright. Covers software faults, internal parts, battery issues and the included accessories; physical and water damage are not covered.

Returns

14 days
30 days30-day change-of-mind returns from delivery, with a free prepaid Royal Mail return label.

Battery

Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell
Battery issues are covered by the 1-year warranty

Accessories

Original Apple accessoriesEvery device will come with all original accessories, cables and operating systems
Not stated

Shipping

FreeShipping costs are calculated and displayed before you complete your order on the Apple Online Store.
FreeFree Royal Mail next-business-day delivery to mainland UK; orders before 2pm Monday to Friday ship the same day. Channel Islands take 2-3 working days.

Paying

Not statedApple Pay, Apple Card, PayPal, Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, Apple Gift card
Not stated

Student discount

None
Not stated

The grades at Apple Store next to those at Grade Mobile

Same letter, different words. Every grade works fully; the grade describes looks. The photos follow the device you picked above.

Apple Store Grade Mobile

Grade A

You will receive a refurbished device with genuine Apple replacement parts (as needed) that has been thoroughly cleaned and inspected. Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell.
Original partsNew battery

Excellent

Superb condition device with no signs of use when held at arms length from the eye. The device may have up to 3 blemishes such as hairline scratch.
Grade A: Almost no visible marks

AAlmost no visible marks

Not sold

Apple Store has no grade B.

Very Good

A great condition device with minor signs of use from normal wear and tear. This may have a slight mark or blemish that prevents it from being put as Renewed.
Grade B: Light marks on the body

BLight marks on the body

Not sold

Apple Store has no grade C.

Good

Used condition that will have natural wear and tear from everyday use, this may have a few marks or blemishes.
Grade C: Visible marks on body and screen

CVisible marks on body and screen

Apple Store or Grade Mobile?

Is Apple Store or Grade Mobile cheaper for refurbished Apple devices?

Grade Mobile is cheaper: its lowest refurbished iPhone costs £89, against £569 at Apple Store, as of 21 October 2026. Grade Mobile is also cheaper for iPads (£69 against £259). Across all its devices, Apple Store starts at £109 and Grade Mobile starts at £69. Prices come from RefurbMe's live listings and change daily.

Does Apple Store or Grade Mobile have the longer warranty?

The warranty on refurbished Apple devices lasts 1 year at both Apple Store and Grade Mobile, as of 21 October 2026. On returns, the figures are 14 days at Apple Store and 30 days at Grade Mobile. Each figure is the minimum every listing at the store carries, so some listings come with more.

Does Apple Store or Grade Mobile give longer to return a device?

Grade Mobile gives at least 30 days to return a refurbished Apple device, against at least 14 days at Apple Store, as of 21 October 2026. On warranty, the figures are 1 year at Apple Store and 1 year at Grade Mobile. Grade Mobile's policy says: "30-day change-of-mind returns from delivery, with a free prepaid Royal Mail return label."

How do the grades at Apple Store and Grade Mobile compare?

Apple Store sells refurbished Apple devices in Grade A; Grade Mobile sells Excellent, Very Good and Good. The same name can mean different things at each store, so compare each store's own wording. Every grade works fully; the grade only describes how the casing and screen look.

Does Apple Store or Grade Mobile have more refurbished Apple devices?

Refurbished Apple devices in RefurbMe's live listings, as of 21 October 2026: 197 at Apple Store, against 98 at Grade Mobile. By device: 68 iPhones against 90 and 104 iPads against 8. Apple Store has more listings in 1 of the 2 device types both stores sell.

Is there a cheaper option than Apple Store and Grade Mobile?

For refurbished iPhones, yes: Back Market starts at £63 in RefurbMe's live listings, as of 21 October 2026, against £89 at the cheaper of Apple Store and Grade Mobile. Back Market has 444 iPhones listed. Its warranty lasts 1 year, with 30-day returns.

More matchups