Amazon Renewed vs Back Market: which is better for refurbished Apple?

Back Market for cheaper iPhones (from £62 against £156), more listings (1,322 against 205) and cheaper iPads (from £57 against £89). Amazon Renewed is not ahead on any row we can rank today.

Prices checked 27 Oct, 23:54. Sellers pay us a commission. It never changes the order. Is RefurbMe free to use?

Where Amazon Renewed and Back Market differ

Each store's own terms. A check marks the better one where we can rank it.

Amazon Renewed Back Market

Warranty

1 year
1 year

Returns

30 days
30 days

Battery

80%+Minimum 80% battery life
80%+Above 80% capacity

Accessories

Compatible accessoriesCompatible MFi Certified charger and cable. No headphones.
Compatible accessoriesAll smartphones offered on Back Market are delivered with a compatible phone charger. To avoid electronic waste, our devices are delivered without earphones.

Shipping

FreeAll orders of £20 or more of eligible items, dispatched by Amazon, across any product category qualify for FREE Delivery.
Not stated

Paying

Pay in fullVisa, Delta, Visa Electron, MasterCard, EuroCard, American Express, UK based Maestro and Solo
Not statedVisa, MasterCard and Paypal

Student discount

Not stated
YesStudents get 5% off absolutely everything on Back Market!

The grades at Amazon Renewed next to those at Back Market

Same letter, different words. Every grade works fully; the grade describes looks. The photos follow the device you picked above.

Amazon Renewed Back Market

Premium and Excellent

Premium: Screen: No scratches; Body: No signs of cosmetic damage (scratches, dents, and more) are visible when holding the product 30 centimeters away. Battery: >90% of original battery life.
Battery 90%+Screen: no scratches
Excellent: Screen: No scratches; Body: No signs of cosmetic damage (scratches, dents, and more) are visible when holding the product 30 centimeters away. Battery: >80% of original battery life.
Battery 80%+Screen: no scratches

Premium and Excellent

Premium: Their screens and bodies have almost no signs of use; they contain only genuine manufacturer parts and batteries; and their batteries have a minimum capacity of 90%.
Battery 90%+Original parts
Excellent: The body may have very light micro-scratches that are invisible at a distance of 8 inches (a bit longer than a standard-sized pencil) or more. For items with screens, the screen will have no scratches.
Checked from 8 in awayScreen: no scratches
Grade A: Almost no visible marks

AAlmost no visible marks

Good

Screen: No scratches; Body: Light scratches, barely visible when holding the product 30 centimeters away and imperceptible to touch. Battery: >80% of original battery life.
Battery 80%+Screen: no scratches

Good

The body may have light micro-scratches that are invisible at a distance of 20 inches (about an arm's length) or more. For items with screens, the screen will have no scratches.
Checked from 20 in awayScreen: no scratches
Grade B: Light marks on the body

BLight marks on the body

Acceptable

Screen: May have a small number of shallow scratches, invisible when the screen is turned on; Body: Light scratches, clearly visible when holding the device 30 centimeters away and perceptible to touch. Battery: >80% of original battery life.
Battery 80%+

Fair

The body may have a few visible scratches and dents that don't affect performance. Devices with screens may have light scratches that are slightly visible when the device is on.
Grade C: Visible marks on body and screen

CVisible marks on body and screen

Amazon Renewed or Back Market?

Is Amazon Renewed or Back Market cheaper for refurbished Apple devices?

Back Market is cheaper: its lowest refurbished iPhone costs £62, against £156 at Amazon Renewed, as of 27 October 2026. Back Market is also cheaper for iPads (£57 against £89) and MacBooks (£169 against £340). Across all its devices, Amazon Renewed starts at £89 and Back Market starts at £57. Prices come from RefurbMe's live listings and change daily.

Does Amazon Renewed or Back Market have the longer warranty?

The warranty on refurbished Apple devices lasts 1 year at both Amazon Renewed and Back Market, as of 27 October 2026. On returns, the figures are 30 days at Amazon Renewed and 30 days at Back Market. On battery health, the figures are 80%+ at Amazon Renewed and 80%+ at Back Market.

Does Amazon Renewed or Back Market give longer to return a device?

Amazon Renewed and Back Market both give at least 30 days to return a refurbished Apple device, as of 27 October 2026. On warranty, the figures are 1 year at Amazon Renewed and 1 year at Back Market. On battery health, the figures are 80%+ at Amazon Renewed and 80%+ at Back Market.

How do the grades at Amazon Renewed and Back Market compare?

Amazon Renewed sells refurbished Apple devices in Excellent, Good and Acceptable; Back Market sells Excellent, Good and Fair. The same name can mean different things at each store, so compare each store's own wording. Every grade works fully; the grade only describes how the casing and screen look.

Does Amazon Renewed or Back Market have more refurbished Apple devices?

Refurbished Apple devices in RefurbMe's live listings, as of 27 October 2026: 1,322 at Back Market, against 205 at Amazon Renewed. By device: 434 iPhones against 61, 402 iPads against 45 and 333 MacBooks against 49. Back Market has more listings in 4 of the 4 device types both stores sell.

More matchups