Blog

Is a Refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max Worth It in 2026?

A refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max is worth it in 2026 if you want a 6.7-inch ProMotion screen and a 3x telephoto for well under half its launch price. On October 19, 2026, the cheapest unlocked unit was $431 at Gazelle, and the phone runs iOS 27 but not Apple Intelligence.

In this article
  1. Is a refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max still worth it in 2026?
  2. Refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max price by seller$431
  3. Carrier-locked vs unlocked: what the cheapest listings mean
  4. Battery health on a 2022 phone
  5. Seller grades and warranties compared
  6. What you give up against the 15 Pro Max
  7. Refurbished 14 Pro Max vs 14 Pro vs 15 Pro Max: which to buy
  8. How long will Apple support the iPhone 14 Pro Max?
  9. Where to buy a refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max
  10. Will refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max prices keep falling?
  11. FAQ
Is a Refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max Worth It in 2026?

RefurbMe's iPhone 14 Pro Max stats page put the cheapest refurbished unit at $379 on October 19, 2026, 66% below launch. That $379 phone is locked to AT&T, at eBay Refurbished. RefurbMe's Refurb Discount, the median saving of a refurbished iPhone against its launch price, is 77% for the whole iPhone family (as of October 2026, RefurbMe iPhone stats). That family median leans on models many years old, so judge the 14 Pro Max by its own price history, not by the family figure. RefurbMe counted 120 in-stock US offers for the 14 Pro Max that day.

Is a refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max still worth it in 2026?

Buy one if you want the big Pro screen and camera for the least money. The iPhone 14 Pro Max has a 6.7-inch OLED display with ProMotion up to 120Hz, the A16 Bionic chip and a 48MP Main camera. (Apple) Apple's launch release introduced it with "the Always-On display, the first-ever 48MP camera on iPhone, Crash Detection, Emergency SOS via satellite" and the Dynamic Island. (Apple Newsroom)

Skip it if you want Apple Intelligence, which the 14 Pro Max does not get. Skip it too if a worn battery would bother you. The phone first went on sale on September 16, 2022, and Apple designs batteries of iPhone 14 models and earlier for 500 complete charge cycles, half the figure for iPhone 15 models and later.

The $431 floor is a Fair unit. Gazelle's iPhone 14 Pro Max product page lists that unit in Fair condition, the lowest of its three grades, and its cheapest Good unit costs more. If you want a better grade, read the grade on each listing before you pay.

Refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max price by seller

A refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max starts at $431 unlocked on RefurbMe today. Apple's launch release priced the iPhone 14 Pro Max at $1,099 (US) before trade-in, and it reached stores on September 16, 2022.

These are the cheapest unlocked listings at each seller that were in stock and seen from October 17 to October 19, 2026, read from RefurbMe's live prices on October 19. The table compares price only. We checked the grade of Gazelle's units and no other, so read the grade on each listing before you pay.

Storage Gazelle Back Market Amazon Renewed eBay Refurbished
128GB $431 $462 $490 None seen since Oct 17
256GB $465 $485 $545 $534
512GB $521 $508 None None
1TB $574 $559 None None

Storage is cheap on this model. Gazelle's 256GB unit costs $34 more than its 128GB one, and Back Market's 1TB unit was $559, $97 more than its own 128GB unit at $462. If you shoot ProRes video, skip 128GB, since Apple limits ProRes recording to 1080p at 30 fps on the 128GB model.

One unit sits outside the table. eBay Refurbished had an unlocked 128GB phone at $399, but RefurbMe last saw it on October 16, 2026, so we did not count it as a current price. Check the refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max page to see whether it is back.

Apple no longer sells the iPhone 14 Pro Max new. The "All models" shelf of Apple's US iPhone store lists the iPhone Duo, iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone 18 Pro Max, iPhone Air, iPhone 17, iPhone 17e and iPhone 16, which we checked on October 19, 2026. Apple's Certified Refurbished iPhone store listed iPhone 15 and iPhone 16 models that day and no 14 Pro Max, so every unit above comes from an independent refurbisher or program.

Refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max
from $431 in Good Refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max · 43 configurations at 5 sellers. Checked Oct 20, 10:09 PM EDT.
See all 120 offers

Prices in Canada and the UK

Canadian supply is thin, with 18 in-stock offers on October 19, 2026. The cheapest unlocked 128GB unit was CA$717 at Amazon Renewed. eBay Refurbished had one at CA$789. At 256GB, Amazon Renewed had an unlocked unit at CA$894.

UK buyers have far more choice, with 197 in-stock offers. eBay Refurbished had the cheapest unlocked 128GB unit at £349. Back Market followed at £368, Reboxed at £388 and MusicMagpie at £399. eBay Refurbished also had an unlocked 512GB unit at £349. The policy table below uses each seller's US pages, so check the UK or Canadian terms before you order.

Carrier-locked vs unlocked: what the cheapest listings mean

The cheapest 14 Pro Max in the US is a locked one. On October 19, 2026, eBay Refurbished had a 128GB unit locked to AT&T at $379, $52 below Gazelle's unlocked floor of $431. At Back Market, the cheapest 128GB unit locked to AT&T was $420, $42 less than its unlocked 128GB unit at $462. Amazon Renewed had an AT&T 128GB unit at $438.

Verizon and T-Mobile units save nothing here. Back Market's cheapest 128GB units locked to Verizon or T-Mobile were $467, $5 more than its unlocked unit.

Buy locked only if you already use that carrier and plan to stay. A locked phone works only on that carrier until the carrier unlocks it, and Apple says "Only your current carrier can unlock your iPhone". To check a phone you receive, open Settings, General, About. If "No SIM restrictions" appears next to Carrier Lock, your iPhone is unlocked. (Apple)

A US 14 Pro Max also has no SIM tray. Apple says the iPhone 14 Pro and iPhone 14 Pro Max "use eSIM technology and are not compatible with physical SIM cards", and lists a SIM tray only on models purchased outside the U.S. Ask your carrier how to move your line to eSIM before the phone arrives. Our guide to unlocked refurbished iPhones explains the trade-off in more detail.

Battery health on a 2022 phone

Battery is the main risk on this model. Ask for 85 percent battery health or more and treat 80 percent as the floor. Apple says batteries of iPhone 14 models and earlier are designed to retain 80 percent of their original capacity at 500 complete charge cycles under ideal conditions. (Apple)

The 14 Pro Max shows less battery data than newer models. Apple says the cycle count appears in Settings only on iPhone 15 models and later. Open Settings, tap Battery, then tap Battery Health & Charging to see the maximum capacity and whether a replacement is recommended. Check it the day the phone arrives, inside the return window.

Then open Settings, tap General, and then tap About. If the phone has been repaired, you see a Parts and Service History section there, and Apple marks a nongenuine part as Unknown. (Apple) A recent genuine battery replacement is good news on a 2022 phone. Our iPhone battery health guide explains what happens to performance below 80 percent.

Each seller sets its own battery floor. Back Market promises a minimum 80 percent battery capacity on its Excellent, Good and Fair phones and 90 percent on Premium. eBay Refurbished lists 85 percent or more at Excellent and 80 percent or more at Very Good and Good. Amazon Renewed promises more than 80 percent, and more than 90 percent on Renewed Premium. Gazelle's iPhone 14 Pro Max page does not state a battery minimum.

A battery service pays only if you plan to keep the phone for years and the rest of it is clean. If a unit arrives with a replacement already recommended, return it inside the window instead, since the seller sold you a worn part.

Seller grades and warranties compared

One seller's "Excellent" is not another's, so compare the terms before the price. The table below comes from each seller's own US policy or product page, fetched on October 19, 2026. Where a page does not state a value, the cell says so.

Seller Grade names What a grade means Battery Warranty Returns
Gazelle Excellent, Good, Fair Not stated on the iPhone 14 Pro Max page Not stated on the iPhone 14 Pro Max page 1-year warranty shown on the product page Free 30-day returns
Back Market Premium, Excellent, Good, Fair Excellent has almost no signs of wear and no screen scratches Minimum 80% at Excellent, Good and Fair; 90% on Premium 12 months 30-day free returns
Amazon Renewed Premium, Excellent, Good, Acceptable Excellent shows no cosmetic damage when held 12 inches away Above 80%; above 90% on Premium Not stated for most items; select items add an 11-month Asurion warranty 90 days on most items; 365 days on Renewed Premium
eBay Refurbished Certified, Excellent, Very Good, Good Excellent is like-new with no visible wear; Good has moderate wear 85%+ at Excellent, 80%+ at Very Good and Good One year from vetted sellers; two years on Certified 30-day free returns

Back Market says an Excellent device shows "Almost no signs of wear. The body may have very light micro-scratches." Its limited warranty covers defects "for 12 months after the delivery date". eBay Refurbished describes its Excellent grade as like-new condition with no visible wear from quality-vetted sellers. Amazon sorts Renewed products into "one of four conditions: Premium, Excellent, Good, or Acceptable".

Amazon says most Renewed items include a 90-day return period, and that select items include its 30-day return period followed by a free 11-month limited warranty serviced by Asurion. Gazelle's product page shows "Free 30-day Returns 1-Year Warranty". For the general picture of how grades map across sellers, see our guide to refurbished grades A, B and C.

What you give up against the 15 Pro Max

The 15 Pro Max fixes the three things that date the 14 Pro Max. It has a USB-C connector with USB 3 speeds up to 10Gb/s, where the 14 Pro Max uses Lightning. Its titanium design replaces stainless steel, and it weighs 221 grams against 240 grams. An Action button takes the place of the Ring/Silent switch. (Apple)

The camera and chip moved too. The 15 Pro Max has the A17 Pro chip and a 5x Telephoto, against the A16 Bionic and a 3x Telephoto on the 14 Pro Max. It also gets Apple Intelligence. Apple rates both phones at up to 29 hours of video playback, so battery life on paper is a tie.

You keep most of the daily experience. Both have a 6.7-inch display with ProMotion, the Dynamic Island and an Always-On display, a 48MP Main camera, MagSafe charging up to 15W and an IP68 rating to a depth of 6 meters for up to 30 minutes.

Refurbished 14 Pro Max vs 14 Pro vs 15 Pro Max: which to buy

Pick by screen size and budget. The 14 Pro is the same phone in a 6.1-inch body with a shorter rated battery life. The 15 Pro Max adds the upgrades above and starts at 256GB.

Feature iPhone 14 Pro Max iPhone 14 Pro iPhone 15 Pro Max
Display 6.7-inch OLED, ProMotion up to 120Hz 6.1-inch OLED, ProMotion up to 120Hz 6.7-inch OLED, ProMotion up to 120Hz
Chip A16 Bionic A16 Bionic A17 Pro
Optical zoom in 3x 3x 5x
Connector Lightning Lightning USB-C
Video playback Up to 29 hours Up to 23 hours Up to 29 hours
Weight 240 grams 206 grams 221 grams
Apple Intelligence No No Yes
Cheapest unlocked 256GB (Oct 19, 2026) $465 at Gazelle $413 at Back Market $609 at Gazelle

Sources: Apple's iPhone 14 Pro Max, iPhone 14 Pro and iPhone 15 Pro Max spec pages and its Apple Intelligence requirements; prices from RefurbMe's live listings seen from October 17 to 19, 2026. We compare 256GB because the 15 Pro Max has no 128GB model.

The 14 Pro costs a little less. Its cheapest unlocked 128GB unit was $385 at Gazelle, $46 below the 14 Pro Max at the same seller. You give up 0.6 inch of screen and Apple rates its battery six hours shorter. Our refurbished iPhone 14 Pro guide has its sellers, and our iPhone 14 Pro vs Pro Max comparison covers every difference. For the base model, see our refurbished iPhone 14 guide.

The 15 Pro Max is the better phone, and the gap is wide. At 256GB, Gazelle's cheapest unlocked 15 Pro Max was $609, $144 more than its 14 Pro Max. At Back Market the gap was $127, with the 15 Pro Max at $612 against $485. Pay it if you want USB-C, the 5x zoom or Apple Intelligence. Otherwise the 14 Pro Max is the better buy. Our refurbished iPhone 15 Pro Max guide has its sellers, and the refurbished iPhone 15 Pro Max page its live listings. If you are weighing an older Pro Max, read our iPhone 13 Pro Max vs iPhone 14 Pro Max comparison.

How long will Apple support the iPhone 14 Pro Max?

The iPhone 14 Pro Max runs iOS 27, the current release. Apple's iOS 27 compatibility page lists the iPhone 14 Pro and iPhone 14 Pro Max. (Apple) It does not get Apple Intelligence. Apple says Apple Intelligence in iOS 27 is "available on iPhone 16 models or later, iPhone 15 Pro, iPhone 15 Pro Max, iPhone Air". (Apple)

Apple publishes no end-of-support date for any iPhone, so nobody can promise you a number of future iOS releases. The oldest phones on the iOS 27 list are the iPhone 11 family and the second-generation iPhone SE. The 14 Pro Max is three generations newer than the iPhone 11, which points to more updates but guarantees none. Our breakdown of how long Apple supports iPhones has the full history.

Where to buy a refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max

We list the sellers by the best offer on an unlocked 128GB iPhone 14 Pro Max, from RefurbMe's live prices on October 19, 2026. Grades were not checked listing by listing, except Gazelle's units, so read each listing's grade before you pay.

  1. Gazelle. The cheapest unlocked 128GB unit at $431, in Fair condition. You get a one-year warranty and free 30-day returns. Its product page names its grades without defining them and gives no battery minimum.
  2. Back Market. An unlocked 128GB unit at $462 and the cheapest unlocked 1TB unit at $559. Back Market promises a minimum 80 percent battery capacity on its Excellent, Good and Fair phones, and every purchase comes with a 1-year warranty and 30-day free returns.
  3. Amazon Renewed. An unlocked 128GB unit at $490. Most Renewed items come with a 90-day return period, the longest here, but Amazon adds an 11-month Asurion warranty only on select items, so check the product page.
  4. eBay Refurbished. No unlocked 128GB unit seen since October 17, but an unlocked 256GB unit at $534 and the cheapest phone overall, the AT&T-locked 128GB unit at $379. Its grades come with a battery floor, a one-year warranty from vetted sellers and 30-day free returns.

For more detail on each seller, read our guide to the best places to buy refurbished iPhones and the reviews of Back Market and Amazon Renewed.

Compare refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max prices

See live iPhone 14 Pro Max listings from Gazelle, Back Market, Amazon Renewed and eBay Refurbished in one place.

Compare Prices

Will refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max prices keep falling?

Slowly. The lowest price RefurbMe has recorded for a refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max in the US is $379, at eBay Refurbished on July 29, 2026. eBay Refurbished's AT&T unit matched that record on October 19, 2026, while the unlocked floor of $431 was $52 above it.

A 2022 phone with this much supply moves in small steps. Set a price alert if you can wait for an unlocked unit near $400.

FAQ

Is a refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max worth it in 2026?

Yes, if you want a 6.7-inch ProMotion screen and a 3x telephoto for well under half the launch price, and you accept a 2022 battery. On October 19, 2026, the cheapest unlocked unit was 431 dollars at Gazelle, in Fair condition. It runs iOS 27 but not Apple Intelligence.

How much does a refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max cost?

On October 19, 2026, unlocked units started at 431 dollars for 128GB at Gazelle, and Back Market had the cheapest unlocked 1TB unit at 559 dollars. The cheapest phone overall was an AT&T-locked unit at 379 dollars at eBay Refurbished. Prices move weekly, so check the live listings.

Is a carrier-locked refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max a good deal?

Only if you already use AT&T. On October 19, 2026, eBay Refurbished's AT&T unit at 379 dollars was 52 dollars below the cheapest unlocked one, while Back Market's Verizon and T-Mobile units cost 5 dollars more than its unlocked unit. Check Carrier Lock in Settings, General, About when the phone arrives.

What battery health should a refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max have?

Aim for 85 percent or more and treat 80 percent as the floor. Apple designs iPhone 14 and earlier batteries to keep 80 percent capacity at 500 complete charge cycles. The 14 Pro Max does not show the cycle count in Settings, so ask the seller.

Is the 15 Pro Max worth the extra over a refurbished 14 Pro Max?

Only if you want USB-C, the 5x zoom or Apple Intelligence. On October 19, 2026, Gazelle's cheapest unlocked 256GB 15 Pro Max cost 144 dollars more than its 14 Pro Max, and Apple rates both at up to 29 hours of video playback.

Does Apple still sell the iPhone 14 Pro Max new or Certified Refurbished?

No. On October 19, 2026, the All models shelf of Apple's US iPhone store started at the iPhone 16, and its Certified Refurbished iPhone store had no 14 Pro Max. Refurbished units come from sellers such as Gazelle, Back Market, Amazon Renewed and eBay Refurbished.

How many years of iOS updates are left for the iPhone 14 Pro Max?

Apple publishes no end date. The 14 Pro Max runs iOS 27, and the oldest phones on the iOS 27 list are the iPhone 11 family and the second-generation iPhone SE.

To compare every refurbished iPhone 14 Pro Max listing across sellers in real time, head to the refurbished iPhone page and filter by model, grade and price.

First published: Oct 19, 2026

Simo Elalj

CEO and Founder at RefurbMe. I made this project back when I was 15 when I had to wake up at 2am to buy my own refurbished Macbook Pro. Passionate about circular economy, great UX and goats.