A refurbished iPhone 16 is worth buying in 2026 if you want Apple Intelligence, Camera Control and the A18 chip for well under Apple's new price. Apple still sells the phone new, so the comparison is direct. On October 6, 2026, the cheapest unlocked 128GB unit RefurbMe tracked was $378 at eBay Refurbished, against Apple's $829 for the same storage new and unlocked. That listing is an outlier, though, and most unlocked units cost between $550 and $600.
RefurbMe's Time-to-Refurb, the number of days between a model's release and its first refurbished offer, is 360 days for the iPhone 16, against an 82-day median across every iPhone RefurbMe tracks (as of October 2026, RefurbMe iPhone stats). RefurbMe recorded its first in-stock refurbished iPhone 16 on September 2, 2025, at Back Market. Supply has grown fast since then: RefurbMe counted 108 in-stock US offers for the iPhone 16 and 103 for the iPhone 16 Plus on October 6, 2026.
Table of contents
- Quick verdict: who should buy a refurbished iPhone 16
- Does Apple still sell the iPhone 16 new?
- How much does a refurbished iPhone 16 cost?
- iPhone 16 vs iPhone 16 Plus refurbished
- Software support and Apple Intelligence
- Battery health: what to check
- Seller grades and warranties compared
- Where to buy a refurbished iPhone 16
- Refurbished iPhone 16 vs refurbished iPhone 15 vs new iPhone 17e
- Will refurbished iPhone 16 prices keep falling?
- FAQ
Quick verdict: who should buy a refurbished iPhone 16
Buy a refurbished iPhone 16 if you want a phone that runs Apple Intelligence and will stay on Apple's support list for years, and you would rather not pay new-phone money. It has the A18 chip, a 6.1-inch OLED display with Dynamic Island, Camera Control, the Action button and a 48MP Fusion main camera. (Apple)
If your budget stops near $400, you are shopping the very bottom of the market, where a refurbished iPhone 15 costs about the same as the rare cheap iPhone 16. Take the 16 if you find one, because the 15 lacks Apple Intelligence. If you want the longest runway and can spend $699, a new iPhone 17e from Apple has a newer chip and twice the base storage.
Does Apple still sell the iPhone 16 new?
Yes. Apple's US store still sells a new iPhone 16, in 128GB only, for $829 unlocked. The iPhone 16 appears on the "All models" shelf of Apple's iPhone store next to the iPhone Duo, iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone Air, iPhone 17 and iPhone 17e, which we checked on October 6, 2026.
Apple advertises it from $799, a price that includes a connectivity discount for buyers who connect with a carrier at the time of purchase. Apple says that discount "is not available for customers who choose to connect to a carrier later". The iPhone 16 Plus is a different story: Apple's iPhone 16 buy page offers only the 128GB iPhone 16, so the Plus is now a refurbished or reseller purchase.
That makes the math simple. Every refurbished iPhone 16 price below should be read against $829, the price you would pay Apple for a new unlocked 128GB unit today.
How much does a refurbished iPhone 16 cost?
A refurbished iPhone 16 starts at $378 unlocked on RefurbMe today, less than half of Apple's $829. Apple launched the phone in September 2024, when "iPhone 16 starts at $799 (U.S.)", and it went on sale on September 20, 2024. (Apple Newsroom)
These are the cheapest unlocked listings at each seller that were in stock and seen in the past two weeks, read from RefurbMe's live prices on October 6, 2026. The table compares price only; grades differ between listings and between sellers, so read the grade table further down before you pick.
| Storage | eBay Refurbished | Amazon Renewed | Gazelle | Back Market | Apple Certified Refurbished |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 128GB | $378 | $575 | $599 | No unlocked listing | No listing |
| 256GB | No current listing | No current listing | $624 | $674 | No listing |
| 512GB | No current listing | No current listing | No current listing | $699 | $909 |
The $378 eBay Refurbished listing is the floor, and it is well below the rest of the market. The next cheapest unlocked 128GB unit at eBay Refurbished was $551, and Amazon Renewed had one at $575. Treat $378 as a deal that may not last, and $550 to $600 as the going rate for an unlocked 128GB iPhone 16.
Carrier-locked units fill the gap. Back Market had no unlocked 128GB listing, but its cheapest AT&T-locked 128GB unit was $481. A locked phone only works on that carrier until it is unlocked, so read our guide to unlocked versus carrier-locked refurbished iPhones before you take the discount.
At 512GB, Back Market's $699 beat Apple's refurbished price of $909 by $210. Apple's unit is the better-covered one, because Apple says its refurbished iOS devices come with a new battery and outer shell. Compare all the live listings on the refurbished iPhone 16 page.
Prices in Canada and the UK
Canadian supply is thin. RefurbMe counted six in-stock offers for the iPhone 16 in Canada on October 6, 2026. The cheapest unlocked 128GB unit was CA$766 at eBay Refurbished, followed by CA$888 at Amazon Renewed, and Orchard had no current listing.
UK buyers have more choice. The cheapest unlocked 128GB unit was £489 at Amazon Renewed, then £514 at TLX, £519 at eBay Refurbished and £520 at Back Market. MusicMagpie had one at £579, and Apple's own refurbished store at £659. The policy table below uses each seller's US pages, so check the UK or Canadian terms before you order.
iPhone 16 vs iPhone 16 Plus refurbished
The Plus is worth it if battery life is your priority and you can find one close to the price of a base 16. Apple rates the iPhone 16 Plus at up to 27 hours of video playback against up to 22 hours for the iPhone 16. (Apple, Apple) The Plus has a 6.7-inch display against 6.1 inches, and weighs 199 grams against 170 grams. Chip, cameras and buttons are the same.
| Feature | iPhone 16 | iPhone 16 Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.1-inch OLED | 6.7-inch OLED |
| Video playback | Up to 22 hours | Up to 27 hours |
| Weight | 170 grams | 199 grams |
| Launch price | $799 | $899 |
| Cheapest unlocked 128GB (Oct 6, 2026) | $378 | $562 |
Sources: Apple's iPhone 16 and iPhone 16 Plus spec pages and the launch announcement; prices from RefurbMe's live listings.
The cheapest unlocked 128GB iPhone 16 Plus was $562 at eBay Refurbished on October 6, 2026. That is $184 more than the $378 iPhone 16 floor, but only $11 more than eBay Refurbished's next unlocked 128GB iPhone 16 at $551. Gazelle had an unlocked 128GB Plus at $592, and Apple's refurbished store had one at $749.
The cheapest iPhone 16 Plus of any kind was $491 at Amazon Renewed, locked to AT&T. Compare the live listings on the refurbished iPhone 16 Plus page.
Software support and Apple Intelligence
The iPhone 16 runs iOS 27, the current release, and gets Apple Intelligence. Apple's iOS 27 compatibility page lists iPhone 16, iPhone 16 Plus, iPhone 16 Pro and iPhone 16 Pro Max. (Apple) Apple says Apple Intelligence in iOS 27 is "available on iPhone 16 models or later, iPhone 15 Pro, iPhone 15 Pro Max, iPhone Air". (Apple)
Apple publishes no end-of-support date for any iPhone, so nobody can promise you a number of future iOS releases. What the list does show is the margin. The oldest phones on the iOS 27 list are the iPhone 11 family and the second-generation iPhone SE, five generations older than the iPhone 16. Our breakdown of how long Apple supports iPhones has the full history.
Battery health: what to check
Ask for 90 percent battery health or more on a refurbished iPhone 16, and treat 80 percent as the floor. Apple says batteries of iPhone 15 models and later are designed to retain 80 percent of their original capacity at 1000 complete charge cycles under ideal conditions. (Apple) A phone that sold in late 2024 or 2025 should be far from that point unless it was a heavy-use device.
The iPhone 16 also tells you more than older models do. Apple says that on iPhone 15 models and later you can see the battery's maximum capacity, whether a replacement is recommended, and the cycle count. Check Settings, Battery, Battery Health the day the phone arrives, and ask the seller for the cycle count before you buy if the listing does not give it.
Then open Settings, General, About. If the phone has been repaired, a Parts and Service History section lists the replaced parts, and Apple marks a nongenuine part as Unknown. (Apple) Our iPhone battery health guide explains what happens to performance below 80 percent.
Seller grades and warranties compared
One seller's "Excellent" is not another's, so compare the terms before the price. The table below comes from each seller's own US policy or product page, fetched on October 6, 2026. Where a page does not state a value, the cell says so.
| Seller | Grade names | What a grade means | Battery | Warranty | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| eBay Refurbished | Certified, Excellent, Very Good, Good | Excellent is like-new with no visible wear; Good has moderate wear | 85%+ at Excellent, 80%+ at Very Good and Good | One year from vetted sellers; two years on Certified | 30-day free returns |
| Back Market | Premium, Excellent, Good, Fair | Excellent has micro-scratches invisible from 8 inches; no screen scratches | At least 80% on every phone; 90% on Premium | 12 months | 30 days |
| Amazon Renewed | Premium, Excellent, Good, Acceptable | Excellent shows no cosmetic damage when held 12 inches away | Above 80%; above 90% on Premium | Not stated for most items; select items add an 11-month Asurion warranty | 90 days on most items; 365 days on Renewed Premium |
| Gazelle | Excellent, Good, Fair | Not stated on the iPhone 16 page | Not stated on the iPhone 16 page | 1-year warranty shown on the product page | Free 30-day returns |
| Apple Certified Refurbished | No grades | Genuine Apple replacement parts as needed | New battery | One-year limited warranty | Free returns |
A few details sit behind those cells. eBay Refurbished describes its Excellent grade as like-new condition with no visible wear from quality-vetted sellers, and its Certified grade as pristine and direct from the brand or an authorized seller. Back Market describes its Excellent grade as "very light micro-scratches that are invisible at a distance of 8 inches". Amazon sorts Renewed products into "one of four conditions: Premium, Excellent, Good, or Acceptable".
Warranty terms vary more than grades. Back Market's limited warranty covers defects "for 12 months after the delivery date". Amazon says most Renewed items include a 90-day return period, and that select items include its 30-day return period followed by a free 11-month limited warranty serviced by Asurion. Gazelle's product page shows "Free 30-day Returns 1-Year Warranty" and sells a separate one-year protection plan for $59.99 that covers accidental damage.
Apple's terms are the simplest. Apple says "Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell", and it includes its standard one-year limited warranty with every Apple Certified Refurbished product. For the general picture of how grades map across sellers, see our guide to refurbished grades A, B and C.
Where to buy a refurbished iPhone 16
We list the sellers by the best offer on an unlocked iPhone 16 at each storage size, from RefurbMe's live prices on October 6, 2026. Grades were not checked listing by listing, so read each listing's grade before you pay. Mac of All Trades had no in-stock iPhone 16 on RefurbMe that day.
- eBay Refurbished. The cheapest unlocked 128GB iPhone 16 at $378, and the cheapest unlocked 128GB 16 Plus at $562. Its grades come with a battery floor, a one-year warranty from vetted sellers and 30-day free returns.
- Amazon Renewed. An unlocked 128GB iPhone 16 at $575 and the longest standard return window here at 90 days. The catch is the warranty, since Amazon's guarantee page adds an 11-month Asurion warranty only on select items, so check the product page.
- Gazelle. The cheapest unlocked 256GB iPhone 16 at $624, with a one-year warranty and free 30-day returns. Its iPhone 16 page names its grades without defining them and gives no battery minimum.
- Back Market. The cheapest unlocked 512GB iPhone 16 at $699, and the cheapest carrier-locked 128GB unit at $481. Every phone arrives with at least 80 percent battery health, with a 12-month warranty and 30-day returns.
- Apple Certified Refurbished. The most expensive option, with a 512GB iPhone 16 at $909 and a 128GB 16 Plus at $749. You get a new battery and outer shell, which no other seller here promises, plus Apple's one-year limited warranty.
For more detail on each seller, read our guide to the best places to buy refurbished iPhones and the reviews of Back Market and Amazon Renewed.
Refurbished iPhone 16 vs refurbished iPhone 15 vs new iPhone 17e
At the bottom of the market, a refurbished iPhone 16 and a refurbished iPhone 15 cost about the same. The cheapest unlocked 128GB iPhone 15 was $375 at eBay Refurbished, and Amazon Renewed had one at $410. A new iPhone 17e costs $699 from Apple with 256GB of storage.
| Feature | iPhone 16 (refurbished) | iPhone 15 (refurbished) | iPhone 17e (new) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chip | A18 | A16 Bionic | A19 |
| Apple Intelligence | Yes | No | Yes |
| Base storage | 128GB | 128GB | 256GB |
| Video playback | Up to 22 hours | Up to 20 hours | Up to 26 hours |
| Rear cameras | 48MP Fusion and 12MP Ultra Wide | 48MP Main and 12MP Ultra Wide | 48MP Fusion |
| MagSafe charging | Up to 25W | Up to 15W | Up to 15W |
| Price (Oct 6, 2026) | From $378 unlocked | From $375 unlocked | $699 at Apple |
Sources: Apple's iPhone 16, iPhone 15 and iPhone 17e spec pages; refurbished prices from RefurbMe's live listings at eBay Refurbished.
Pick the refurbished iPhone 16 over the 15 whenever the prices are this close. You get Apple Intelligence, Camera Control, the Action button and faster MagSafe for a few dollars more, and our iPhone 15 vs iPhone 16 comparison covers the rest. If the only 16s left are near $550 and you do not care about Apple Intelligence, a refurbished iPhone 15 still makes sense; see our guide to the refurbished iPhone 15.
The new iPhone 17e is the pick if you want 256GB, a new battery and a full Apple warranty, and you can live with a single rear camera. A refurbished 17e also exists: Amazon Renewed had an unlocked 256GB unit at $573. Our guide to whether a refurbished iPhone 17e is worth it goes deeper, and if you are tempted by the next base model up, read our take on the refurbished iPhone 17 and the iPhone 16 vs iPhone 17 comparison.
Will refurbished iPhone 16 prices keep falling?
Probably, but slowly, and not in a straight line. The lowest price RefurbMe has recorded for a refurbished iPhone 16 in the US is $359, at eBay Refurbished in July 2026. Today's floor of $378 is close to that record, while the typical unlocked price sits near $550.
RefurbMe's Refurb Discount for the iPhone family, the median saving of a refurbished unit against its launch price, is 77 percent (as of October 2026, RefurbMe iPhone stats). That median covers every iPhone RefurbMe tracks, including models many years old, so it says nothing about what an iPhone 16 will cost next month. The iPhone 16 is far shallower, at roughly 30 percent off its $799 launch price for a typical unlocked unit.
The bigger pressure is Apple itself. As long as Apple sells the iPhone 16 new at $829, refurbished prices have a ceiling. Trade-ins from people moving to the iPhone 18 Pro, and later the iPhone Duo, should add to the supply over the coming months. Set a price alert if you can wait. If you would rather follow the newest models, our guide to when the iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone Duo will be refurbished tracks them, and our guides to a refurbished 16 Pro and the refurbished iPhone 16 Pro Max cover the two Pro models.
FAQ
Is a refurbished iPhone 16 worth it in 2026?
Yes, if you want Apple Intelligence and the A18 chip for less than Apple's new price. On October 6, 2026, the cheapest unlocked 128GB unit on RefurbMe was 378 dollars at eBay Refurbished, against 829 dollars new and unlocked from Apple. Most unlocked units cost between 550 and 600 dollars.
Does Apple still sell the iPhone 16 new?
Yes. Apple's US store sells a new 128GB iPhone 16 for 829 dollars unlocked, or from 799 dollars with a connectivity discount for buyers who connect with a carrier at purchase. Apple no longer offers the iPhone 16 Plus new on its iPhone 16 buy page.
How much does a refurbished iPhone 16 cost?
On October 6, 2026, unlocked 128GB units started at 378 dollars at eBay Refurbished, with the next cheapest at 551 dollars at eBay Refurbished and 575 dollars at Amazon Renewed. An AT&T-locked 128GB unit was 481 dollars at Back Market. Prices move weekly, so check the live listings.
Is the iPhone 16 Plus worth the extra over the iPhone 16?
It is if battery life matters most. Apple rates the Plus at up to 27 hours of video playback against 22 hours, with a 6.7-inch screen. The cheapest unlocked 128GB Plus was 562 dollars at eBay Refurbished on October 6, 2026, only 11 dollars above that seller's next unlocked iPhone 16.
Should I buy a refurbished iPhone 16 or a new iPhone 17e?
Buy the refurbished iPhone 16 if you want to spend less and keep a second rear camera. Buy the new iPhone 17e at 699 dollars if you want 256GB, the newer A19 chip, a new battery and Apple's full warranty.
Does the iPhone 16 get Apple Intelligence and iOS updates?
Yes. Apple lists the iPhone 16 and 16 Plus on its iOS 27 compatibility page, and says Apple Intelligence in iOS 27 is available on iPhone 16 models or later. Apple publishes no end-of-support date, but the oldest phones on the iOS 27 list are five generations older than the iPhone 16.
What battery health should a refurbished iPhone 16 have?
Aim for 90 percent or more and treat 80 percent as the floor. Apple designs iPhone 15 and later batteries to keep 80 percent capacity at 1000 complete charge cycles, and the iPhone 16 shows the cycle count in Settings, Battery, Battery Health.
To compare every refurbished iPhone 16 listing across sellers in real time, head to the refurbished iPhone page and filter by model, grade and price.
First published: Oct 6, 2026




