Blog

Is a Refurbished iPhone 15 Pro Still Worth It in 2026?

A refurbished iPhone 15 Pro is still worth buying in 2026 if you want a telephoto camera, a 120Hz screen and Apple Intelligence for less than a new base iPhone. On October 12, 2026, the cheapest unlocked 128GB unit RefurbMe tracked was $496 at Gazelle, less than half of the phone's $999 launch price. The next cheapest unlocked 128GB units were $508 at eBay Refurbished and $540 at Back Market.

In this article
  1. Quick verdict: who should buy a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro
  2. Does Apple still sell the iPhone 15 Pro?
  3. How much does a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro cost?$506
  4. iPhone 15 Pro vs iPhone 15 Pro Max refurbished
  5. What the iPhone 15 Pro still does well
  6. Software support and Apple Intelligence
  7. Battery health: what to check
  8. Seller grades and warranties compared
  9. Where to buy a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro
  10. Refurbished iPhone 15 Pro vs refurbished iPhone 16 vs new iPhone 17e
  11. Will refurbished iPhone 15 Pro prices keep falling?
  12. FAQ
Is a Refurbished iPhone 15 Pro Still Worth It in 2026?

RefurbMe's Time-to-Refurb, the number of days between a model's release and its first refurbished offer, is 85 days for the iPhone 15 Pro, slower than the 74 days of the iPhone 15 Pro Max and the 33 days of the base iPhone 15 (as of October 2026, RefurbMe iPhone stats). RefurbMe recorded its first in-stock refurbished iPhone 15 Pro on December 5, 2023, at Gazelle. Supply is deep now, with 151 in-stock US offers for the iPhone 15 Pro on RefurbMe on October 12, 2026.

Quick verdict: who should buy a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro

Buy one if you want Pro hardware on a mid-range budget. The iPhone 15 Pro has the A17 Pro chip, a 3x telephoto camera, a 6.1-inch ProMotion display with refresh rates up to 120Hz, a titanium design and the Action button. (Apple) The iPhone 15 Pro and 15 Pro Max are also the oldest iPhones that run Apple Intelligence.

The obvious rival is a refurbished base iPhone 16, and right now it is the cheaper phone. Its unlocked 128GB floor was $77 below the 15 Pro's on October 12, 2026. Pick the 16 if you want Camera Control, the newer A18 chip and the lower price. Pick the 15 Pro if you would use a zoom lens and a faster screen every day.

Check the 15 Pro Max before you pay for a 1TB 15 Pro. On October 12, 2026, an unlocked 1TB 15 Pro Max cost $2 more than the only unlocked 1TB 15 Pro RefurbMe tracked.

Does Apple still sell the iPhone 15 Pro?

Not new. The "All models" shelf of Apple's US iPhone store lists the iPhone Duo, iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone Air, iPhone 17, iPhone 17e and iPhone 16, with no iPhone 15 Pro, which we checked on October 12, 2026.

Apple does still sell it refurbished. Apple's Certified Refurbished store listed the "Refurbished iPhone 15 Pro 128GB - Black Titanium (Unlocked)" on October 12, 2026. Its prices were $679 for 128GB, $759 for 256GB and $929 for 512GB, all unlocked. Everything else on the refurbished market comes from independent refurbishers and programs such as Gazelle, eBay Refurbished, Back Market and Amazon Renewed.

How much does a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro cost?

A refurbished iPhone 15 Pro starts at $496 unlocked on RefurbMe today. Apple launched it in September 2023, when "iPhone 15 Pro remains at the same starting price of $999 (U.S.)", and it went on sale on September 22, 2023. (Apple Newsroom)

These are the cheapest unlocked listings at each seller that were in stock and seen in the past three days, read from RefurbMe's live prices on October 12, 2026. Apple's prices come from its own refurbished store page that day. The table compares price only. Grades differ between listings and between sellers, so read the grade table further down before you pick.

Storage Gazelle eBay Refurbished Back Market Amazon Renewed Apple Certified Refurbished
128GB $496 $508 $540 No unlocked listing $679
256GB $539 $533 $555 $598 $759
512GB No current listing $559 $617 $617 $929
1TB No current listing No current listing $685 No current listing No listing

Gazelle's $496 unit is the floor. Gazelle's own iPhone 15 Pro product page lists its cheapest 128GB unit in Fair condition, the lowest of its three grades, so check the grade before you compare it with an Excellent unit elsewhere. At eBay Refurbished, the cheapest unlocked 128GB unit was $508.

Storage costs less than you might expect. At 256GB, eBay Refurbished's $533 sat just $37 above the 128GB floor. At 512GB, eBay Refurbished's $559 undercut Apple's refurbished price of $929 by $370, though Apple says its refurbished iOS devices come with a new battery and outer shell.

Carrier-locked units can be cheaper still. Back Market's cheapest 1TB iPhone 15 Pro was $566, locked to AT&T, $119 less than its cheapest unlocked 1TB unit. Amazon Renewed had no unlocked 128GB unit that day, only one locked to T-Mobile at $512. A locked phone only works on that carrier until it is unlocked, so read our guide to unlocked versus carrier-locked refurbished iPhones before you take the discount. Mac of All Trades had no in-stock iPhone 15 Pro on RefurbMe that day. Compare every live listing on the refurbished iPhone 15 Pro page.

Refurbished iPhone 15 Pro
from $506 in Fair Refurbished iPhone 15 Pro · 59 configurations at 7 sellers. Checked Oct 21, 7:12 AM EDT.
See all 194 offers

Prices in Canada and the UK

Canadian supply is thinner. RefurbMe counted 35 in-stock offers for the iPhone 15 Pro in Canada on October 12, 2026. The only unlocked 128GB unit seen in the past three days was CA$793 at Amazon Renewed. The eBay Refurbished, Orchard and Apple listings had not been seen for five days or more, so check them live before you count on them.

UK buyers have plenty of choice, with 108 in-stock offers. The cheapest unlocked 128GB unit was £419 at eBay Refurbished, then £440 at Back Market, £459 at MusicMagpie and £479 at Amazon Renewed. eBay Refurbished's £419 matches the lowest UK price RefurbMe has recorded for the model. The policy table below uses each seller's US pages, so check the UK or Canadian terms before you order.

iPhone 15 Pro vs iPhone 15 Pro Max refurbished

Pick the Pro Max if you want the 5x telephoto or the longest battery life, because on the refurbished market it no longer costs much more. Apple rates the iPhone 15 Pro Max at up to 29 hours of video playback against up to 23 hours for the iPhone 15 Pro. (Apple, Apple) The Pro Max has a 6.7-inch display against 6.1 inches, a 5x telephoto against 3x, and weighs 221 grams against 187 grams.

Feature iPhone 15 Pro iPhone 15 Pro Max
Display 6.1-inch OLED, up to 120Hz 6.7-inch OLED, up to 120Hz
Telephoto 3x, 77 mm 5x, 120 mm
Video playback Up to 23 hours Up to 29 hours
Weight 187 grams 221 grams
Base storage 128GB 256GB
Launch price $999 $1,199
Cheapest unlocked (Oct 12, 2026) $496 (128GB) $594 (256GB)

Sources: Apple's iPhone 15 Pro and iPhone 15 Pro Max spec pages and the launch announcement; prices from RefurbMe's live listings.

The price gap depends on storage. At 256GB, the cheapest unlocked 15 Pro Max was $594 at Gazelle, $61 more than the cheapest unlocked 256GB 15 Pro. At 512GB the gap was $78, with the cheapest unlocked 15 Pro Max at $637 at Gazelle. At 1TB the gap almost disappears. Back Market had an unlocked 1TB 15 Pro Max at $687, $2 more than its unlocked 1TB 15 Pro. Our guide to the refurbished iPhone 15 Pro Max covers that model in depth, and the refurbished iPhone 15 Pro Max page has every live listing.

What the iPhone 15 Pro still does well

The camera is the main reason to pick the 15 Pro over a base iPhone. Apple's spec page lists a 48MP Main camera, a 12MP Ultra Wide and a 12MP 3x Telephoto at 77 mm. (Apple) Neither the iPhone 16 nor the iPhone 17e has a 3x telephoto camera.

The screen is the second reason. The 15 Pro has an Always-On display and ProMotion with adaptive refresh rates up to 120Hz. Its USB-C port supports USB 3 at up to 10Gb/s, which matters if you shoot video and copy large files to a Mac.

Apple introduced the 15 Pro with a "strong and lightweight titanium design" and the Action button, which can run Silent mode, Focus, Camera, Flashlight, a shortcut and other actions. (Apple Newsroom) Apple's spec page says the SIM tray is "available on models purchased outside the U.S.", so a US unit works only with eSIM. For a look at how far the Pro line moved in two generations, read our iPhone 13 Pro vs iPhone 15 Pro comparison.

Software support and Apple Intelligence

The iPhone 15 Pro runs iOS 27, the current release, and gets Apple Intelligence. Apple's iOS 27 compatibility page lists the iPhone 15 Pro and iPhone 15 Pro Max. (Apple) Apple says Apple Intelligence in iOS 27 is "available on iPhone 16 models or later, iPhone 15 Pro, iPhone 15 Pro Max, iPhone Air". (Apple) The base iPhone 15 is not on that list, which is the biggest software difference between a refurbished 15 and a refurbished 15 Pro.

Apple publishes no end-of-support date for any iPhone, so nobody can promise you a number of future iOS releases. The margin on the current list is wide, though. The oldest phones on the iOS 27 list are the iPhone 11 family and the second-generation iPhone SE, four generations older than the 15 Pro. Our breakdown of how long Apple supports iPhones has the full history.

Battery health: what to check

Ask for 85 percent battery health or more on a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro, and treat 80 percent as the floor. Apple says batteries of iPhone 15 models and later are designed to retain 80 percent of their original capacity at 1000 complete charge cycles under ideal conditions. (Apple) A phone that went on sale in September 2023 can have a lot of cycles behind it, so the number matters more here than on a newer model.

The 15 Pro tells you more than older iPhones do. Apple says that on iPhone 15 models and later you can see the battery's maximum capacity, whether a replacement is recommended, and the cycle count. Check Settings, Battery, Battery Health the day the phone arrives, and ask the seller for the cycle count before you buy if the listing does not give it.

Then open Settings, General, About. If the phone has been repaired, a Parts and Service History section lists the replaced parts, and Apple marks a nongenuine part as Unknown. (Apple) Our iPhone battery health guide explains what happens to performance below 80 percent.

Seller grades and warranties compared

One seller's "Excellent" is not another's, so compare the terms before the price. The table below comes from each seller's own US policy or product page, fetched on October 12, 2026. Where a page does not state a value, the cell says so.

Seller Grade names What a grade means Battery Warranty Returns
Gazelle Excellent, Good, Fair Not stated on the iPhone 15 Pro page Not stated on the iPhone 15 Pro page 1-year warranty shown on the product page Free 30-day returns
eBay Refurbished Certified, Excellent, Very Good, Good Excellent is like-new with no visible wear; Good has moderate wear 85%+ at Excellent, 80%+ at Very Good and Good One year from vetted sellers; two years on Certified 30-day free returns
Back Market Premium, Excellent, Good, Fair Excellent has almost no signs of wear and no screen scratches Minimum 80% at Excellent, Good and Fair; 90% on Premium 12 months 30-day free returns
Amazon Renewed Premium, Excellent, Good, Acceptable Excellent shows no cosmetic damage when held 12 inches away Above 80%; above 90% on Premium Not stated for most items; select items add an 11-month Asurion warranty 90 days on most items; 365 days on Renewed Premium
Apple Certified Refurbished No grades Genuine Apple replacement parts as needed New battery One-year limited warranty Free returns

A few details sit behind those cells. eBay Refurbished describes its Excellent grade as like-new condition with no visible wear from quality-vetted sellers, and its Certified grade as pristine and direct from the brand or an authorized seller. Back Market says an Excellent device shows "Almost no signs of wear. The body may have very light micro-scratches." Amazon sorts Renewed products into "one of four conditions: Premium, Excellent, Good, or Acceptable".

Warranty terms vary more than grades. Back Market's limited warranty covers defects "for 12 months after the delivery date". Amazon says most Renewed items include a 90-day return period, and that select items include its 30-day return period followed by a free 11-month limited warranty serviced by Asurion. Gazelle's product page shows "Free 30-day Returns 1-Year Warranty" and sells a separate one-year protection plan for $59.99 that covers accidental damage.

Apple's terms are the simplest. Apple says "Refurbished iOS devices will come with new battery and outer shell", and it includes its standard one-year limited warranty with every Apple Certified Refurbished product. For the general picture of how grades map across sellers, see our guide to refurbished grades A, B and C.

Where to buy a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro

We list the sellers by the best offer on an unlocked 128GB iPhone 15 Pro, from RefurbMe's live prices on October 12, 2026, and note where another storage size changes the order. Grades were not checked listing by listing, except Gazelle's floor unit, so read each listing's grade before you pay.

  1. Gazelle. The cheapest unlocked 128GB iPhone 15 Pro at $496, in Fair condition, and an unlocked 256GB unit at $539, with a one-year warranty and free 30-day returns. Its iPhone 15 Pro page names its grades without defining them and gives no battery minimum.
  2. eBay Refurbished. An unlocked 128GB unit at $508, plus the cheapest unlocked 256GB unit at $533 and the cheapest unlocked 512GB unit at $559. Its grades come with a battery floor, a one-year warranty from vetted sellers and 30-day free returns.
  3. Back Market. An unlocked 128GB unit at $540, the only unlocked 1TB listing at $685, and an unlocked 1TB 15 Pro Max at $687. Back Market promises a minimum 80 percent battery capacity on its Excellent, Good and Fair phones, and every purchase comes with a one-year warranty and 30-day free returns.
  4. Amazon Renewed. No unlocked 128GB unit that day, but an unlocked 256GB unit at $598 and the longest standard return window here at 90 days. The catch is the warranty, since Amazon's guarantee page adds an 11-month Asurion warranty only on select items, so check the product page.
  5. Apple Certified Refurbished. The most expensive option, with a 128GB iPhone 15 Pro at $679. You get a new battery and outer shell, which no other seller here promises, plus Apple's one-year limited warranty.

For more detail on each seller, read our guide to the best places to buy refurbished iPhones and the reviews of Back Market and Amazon Renewed.

Compare refurbished iPhone 15 Pro prices

See live iPhone 15 Pro listings from Gazelle, eBay Refurbished, Back Market, Amazon Renewed and Apple in one place.

Compare Prices

Refurbished iPhone 15 Pro vs refurbished iPhone 16 vs new iPhone 17e

At the bottom of the market, a refurbished iPhone 16 now costs less than a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro. The cheapest unlocked 128GB iPhone 16 was $419 at eBay Refurbished, $77 less than the 15 Pro floor. A new iPhone 17e costs $699 from Apple with 256GB of storage.

Feature iPhone 15 Pro (refurbished) iPhone 16 (refurbished) iPhone 17e (new)
Chip A17 Pro A18 A19
Apple Intelligence Yes Yes Yes
Base storage 128GB 128GB 256GB
Video playback Up to 23 hours Up to 22 hours Up to 26 hours
Rear cameras 48MP Main, 12MP Ultra Wide, 12MP 3x Telephoto 48MP Fusion and 12MP Ultra Wide 48MP Fusion
Camera Control No Yes No
Price (Oct 12, 2026) From $496 unlocked From $419 unlocked $699 at Apple

Sources: Apple's iPhone 15 Pro, iPhone 16 and iPhone 17e spec pages; refurbished prices from RefurbMe's live listings at Gazelle and eBay Refurbished.

Pick the 15 Pro over the 16 if the telephoto and the 120Hz screen are worth $77 to you. Pick the 16 if you want Camera Control, the newer chip and the lower price. Both run Apple Intelligence. Our guide to the refurbished iPhone 16 has its full price table, and if Apple Intelligence does not matter to you, the refurbished iPhone 15 costs less.

The new iPhone 17e is the pick if you want 256GB, a new battery and a full Apple warranty, and you can live with a single rear camera. A refurbished 17e also exists, and Gazelle had an unlocked 256GB unit at $489. Our guide to whether a refurbished iPhone 17e is worth it goes deeper. If you want a newer Pro, the cheapest unlocked iPhone 16 Pro was $626 at eBay Refurbished, and our refurbished iPhone 14 Pro guide covers the older Pro that lacks Apple Intelligence.

Will refurbished iPhone 15 Pro prices keep falling?

Slowly, and the floor has been lower before. The lowest price RefurbMe has recorded for a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro in the US is $424, at eBay Refurbished in July 2026. Today's floor of $496 is $72 above that record.

RefurbMe's Refurb Discount for the iPhone family, the median saving of a refurbished unit against its launch price, is 77 percent (as of October 2026, RefurbMe iPhone stats). That median covers every iPhone RefurbMe tracks, including models many years old, so it says nothing about what an iPhone 15 Pro will cost next month. Today's $496 floor is about 50 percent below the $999 launch price.

Newer models should keep adding supply. Trade-ins from people moving to the iPhone 18 Pro feed older Pro phones into the refurbished market, and the iPhone Duo opens for pre-order on October 16. Set a price alert if you can wait. Our guide to when the iPhone 18 Pro and iPhone Duo will be refurbished tracks the newest models, and the best refurbished iPhones roundup compares the whole range.

FAQ

Is a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro worth it in 2026?

Yes, if you want a telephoto camera, a 120Hz display and Apple Intelligence for less than a new base iPhone. On October 12, 2026, the cheapest unlocked 128GB unit on RefurbMe was 496 dollars at Gazelle, in Fair condition, less than half of its 999 dollar launch price.

How much does a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro cost?

On October 12, 2026, unlocked 128GB units started at 496 dollars at Gazelle, then 508 dollars at eBay Refurbished and 540 dollars at Back Market. Apple's Certified Refurbished store sold the 128GB model for 679 dollars. Prices move weekly, so check the live listings.

Does Apple still sell the iPhone 15 Pro?

Not new. Apple's US iPhone store lists the iPhone Duo, 18 Pro, Air, 17, 17e and 16, with no iPhone 15 Pro. Apple still sells it Certified Refurbished, from 679 dollars for 128GB on October 12, 2026.

Does the iPhone 15 Pro get Apple Intelligence and iOS 27?

Yes. Apple lists the iPhone 15 Pro on its iOS 27 compatibility page and says Apple Intelligence in iOS 27 is available on the iPhone 15 Pro and 15 Pro Max. The base iPhone 15 does not get it. Apple publishes no end-of-support date.

Is the iPhone 15 Pro Max worth the extra over the 15 Pro?

The extra is small. On October 12, 2026, an unlocked 256GB 15 Pro Max was 61 dollars more than a 256GB 15 Pro, and at 1TB the gap at Back Market was 2 dollars. You get a 6.7-inch screen, a 5x telephoto and up to 29 hours of video playback.

Should I buy a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro or a refurbished iPhone 16?

The iPhone 16 is cheaper right now, 419 dollars against 496 dollars unlocked on October 12, 2026. Take the 15 Pro for the 3x telephoto and the 120Hz display, or the iPhone 16 for Camera Control, the A18 chip and the lower price. Both run Apple Intelligence.

What battery health should a refurbished iPhone 15 Pro have?

Aim for 85 percent or more and treat 80 percent as the floor. Apple designs iPhone 15 and later batteries to keep 80 percent capacity at 1000 complete charge cycles, and the 15 Pro shows the cycle count in Settings, Battery, Battery Health.

To compare every refurbished iPhone 15 Pro listing across sellers in real time, head to the refurbished iPhone page and filter by model, grade and price.

First published: Oct 12, 2026

Simo Elalj

CEO and Founder at RefurbMe. I made this project back when I was 15 when I had to wake up at 2am to buy my own refurbished Macbook Pro. Passionate about circular economy, great UX and goats.